SEVEN 420R championship

The Seven 420R Championship is the pinnacle of Caterham Seven Motorsport and our flagship series. It delivers more power, more speed and more competition.

Eligible Cars

Eligible cars:

2017 Caterham Seven 420R Race Car

2009 - 2016 Caterham Superlight R300-S Race Car

Championship at a glace

Number of rounds: 14
Race weekends: 7
Race duration: 30 minutes

2016 Champion: Aaron Head

Selected coverage on Channel 4



Launched in 2009, the Superlight R300 provided a stepping stone between the then Roadsport-A category and the R400. However, the R300 proved to be such an easy and rewarding car to drive, that the lap times came close to that of its much more powerful stablemate and it quickly became the premier Caterham series. Rebranded Seven 420R for 2017,  the philosophy behind the Seven 420R is to provide a considerable step in performance without making it necessary to have team support. The suspension on the car has fixed rate springs and dampers, like a Roadsport, reducing the need for testing and simplifying car set-up – both of which help ensure the level playing field of competition. However, professional support is prevalent in Seven 420R racing and it’s great to see the teams in the Caterham paddock promoting our championships.

In line with the increased level of performance of both the car and the drivers, team support is allowed (but not mandatory) in the Caterham Superlight Championship.


More events coming soon

seven 420r Price & options list

Download the Superlight R300 race car price and options list and start specifying your dream car